Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar on Work, Rights, and Risks at Amazon

Jan 23 @ 8:00 am9:00 am PST

You are invited to join a webinar organized by the Committee on Workers Capital and the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility on Thursday, January 23rd, 2020 at 4:00 PM GMT | 5:00 PM CET | 11:00 AM EST | 8:00 AM PST

Australian participants are encouraged to register for the webinar to access a recording afterwards.

Amazon has grown rapidly to become the third-largest private employer in the world, with 750,000 workers, not including tens of thousands of temporary employees, so-called independent Flex drivers, and employees at logistics subcontractors. This growth has created challenges for the company, including abuses of workers’ rights to freedom of association and collective bargaining, risks to workers’ safety and health, allegations of mistreatment of women workers and workers of color, as well as concerns about environmental and social impacts on the communities where it operates. For Amazon investors, these human capital management challenges represent risks to the long-term value generation of the company.

To better understand those risks, you will hear from Spencer Cox, Adjunct Professor, University of Minnesota, USA, an expert who has both studied and worked at the company, an Amazon worker, and Fredric Nystrom, Head of Responsible Investment at Öhman Group, Sweden, an investor who has engaged the company regarding its labor rights policies and practices.

This webinar is jointly organized by the Committee on Workers Capital and the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility.

Click here to register

Venue

Online